Sign in to follow this  
Sonja Smedley

Divorce in SL????

Hello to all!

I hope you can help me with my question.

Well, when I started playing SL I met a man and we soon got married.

Now after a few months we broke and now I met another man.

Well we talked about that marriage thing at SL and we wonder If there is a divorce too at SL?

What If someone who is still married, wants to marry another one later?

In the case he or she is no longer in a relationship with the previous partner?

Go to your account on the website and dissolve that partnership. You'll pay 25L for that.

You can still divorce your other partner without his prior consent nor from his lawyer.

You can't have multiple partners, only one at a time.... unfortunately.

you can marry without partnering and you can partner without marrying. those two are not related to eachother, although many choose to partner when they marry; or vice versa. an sl wedding ceremony is just for show and you can do that as many times you want without "divorcing". you may eventually have a handful of guys (or girls) hounding you for it, but is it doable? yes.

putting someone's name in the partner box in your profile, on the other hand, that can only be done once. then you need to un-partner - or "divorce", if you want, before you partner again.

There have been requests to add the capability to have more than one official partner at a time.  The box presently accommodates one name only.  Some who wish to 'partner' more than one person will do so officially with one but unofficially with a second (or third..etc)...and mention all partners in their profile.  Still, it costs lindens to dissolve the one official partnership.

Weddings are separate matters, as has been described, and they can be quite costly if you go for frills and large parties, just like RL.

Of course, there is no rule that you must have a partner in SL or marry, for that matter.