Simplifying Dialog Menu Control Flow

mySky Phenomena

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1608 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello,

I am fairly new to lsl scripting, but have some programming experience. I am currently working on a project that includes some dialog menus, which are more complicated than any I have previously worked on. Functionally, the code is working (as far as I can tell), but I'm wondering if there is any way to streamline or simplify what I've written.

The attached diagram is supposed to show how the menus are organized, sorry if it's confusing. Basically, the part that gets really really long is the control flows associated with levels B and C. For each choice in level B (B1 - B10) there are 15 options (C1 - C15). 

My question is: Does anyone have an example script of a multilevel menu with a lot of options associated with each level?

I'm trying to see if anyone has a better way of handling the control flow. I can attach some examples of my code if that would be helpful, and I am also looking at the lsl libraries online.

Thanks!

*In Level A of the diagram, that's supposed to be A11 (A eleven), not the word "All".

menu_diagram.jpg

Edited by mySky Phenomena

Yes, there are fifteen distinct C options. Originally, I was going to build each menu and store it in a list beforehand. Then, I realized I should just build them only when they're needed because there are sooooo many of them. The control flow for the listen and the dataserver (or whatever the server event is called) events are really really really long. I'm hoping there's some smart way of cutting down on it that I'm not thinking of because I'm a novice, but all of the dialog menu example scripts I'm looking at are short (in terms of the amount of options for each menu) because (obviously) they are just examples.