Can SL help people with disabilities?

Mayadaamn

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1413 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi there, 

I'm a 24-year old anthropology student at the University of Copenhagen doing an essay regarding people with disabilities in virtual worlds such as SL. More specifically, I'm interested in the opportunities that virtual worlds can provide for people with physical/mental disabilities, and what virtual platforms like SL can do to create better user-experiences for people with disabilities. If any of you are interested in the talking with me or chatting with me in this forum regarding the above mentioned or related topics, please do not hesitate to contact me on mayada_10@hotmail.com or wbc162@alumni.ku.dk. 

Best regards, 
Mayada

Hi, @Mayadaamn!

Don't expect to get too many email responses.  Most of us in SL prefer our anonymity.  However, I suggest you join the group Virtual Ability in SL, and visit their regions.  Get in touch with the group's founder, Gentle Heron.  Virtual Ability focuses on exactly the subject you're interested in.

In addition, you may be able to track down the paper that was written by ZiplockedGoldfish Twig for her Master's thesis.  Zippy left SL a long time ago, and I don't recall her real life name, so that'll require some good detective work on your part, sorry.  Her thesis dealt with your subject.

People with disabilities in SL tend to use the platform in one of two ways.  Some will create an avatar that has the same disability as they have in RL.  A paraplegic may use an avatar in a wheelchair, for example.  I've seen a blind person present as an avatar with dark glasses, a cane, and a guide dog.  Others will use avatars that are fully abled, and go about in SL in ways that they cannot, in RL.  I know many people who are housebound in RL, and use SL to experience a wider world.

• Like 6
  • Thanks 3

16 minutes ago, Lindal Kidd said: