Changing the Distance Between Joints

Zangetsu Oe

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1613 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello,

Please excuse my noobishness, as I am just getting into animations, but I'm not sure where to turn to for help. I think my problem is that I just don't know the right questions to ask or the right keywords to put into Google search.

Let me explain what my project is as best I can.

I've been making transforming robot avatars for some time now, Up until now they have all had two modes, a bipedal humanoid robot mode and a vehicle mode, When in robot mode I don't use any animations at all, All the robot parts are just attached to their appropriate bones\attachment points. When the transformation is activated, scripts play an SL animation that folds the avatar up into a locked pose, and all the mechanical parts move to form the vehicle. This works pretty well and I've done several avatars with this technique now. Feeling pretty confident with the modelling and scripting side of things, I'm attempting to do something more challenging.