Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Elissa Taka

Why do permissions change when I rez then take an object (Modify -> No Modify)

Recommended Posts

I searched the forums and Jira (maybe not well enough of course), and couldn't find an answer. 

When I have an inventory item from another creator that's only "No Copy," sometimes (most/all of the time?), I rez it, take it back, and now it's "No Copy No Modify." 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Objects will take the most restrictive permissions when inside inventory, including embedded objects or files:

Full perms box with a Mo-Modify box inside it will be No-Modify while in inventory.

No-Copy box inside a no-modify box that is inside a full perms box will become no-modify and no-copy when that full perms box sits in inventory.

So, a full perms box that contains a no-copy box will have the no-copy applied to the full perms box; the no-copy box that contains a no-modify box will have no-modify applied to that no-copy box, and thus, the no-copy AND no-modify attributes of that box is applied to the full perms box - WHILE it sits in your inventory.

HERE IS A KICKER:

If you rez a box and change the permission - for example: a full perms box change it to no-copy then take it into inventory - then change the permissions while it is in inventory to add "no-modify" that no modify permission will apply while it is in inventory for the next owner (say, your customer) - if they rez it then the PREVIOUS (rezzed) permissions will apply - no-copy, but yes: modify. Not always, and certain cascading things need to happen, but it is common. This is why something that appears to be modifiable while in inventory turns into no-modify when it is rezzed, for example.

Make sense?

In your example - while the object was rezzed the permissions where no-copy AND no-modify. Then they took it into inventory, then changed the permissions while it was in inventory to turn on the Modify permission. But when you rezz it, the old rezzed permissions will STICK. If the object is supposed to be modifiable, contact the creator as they may not be aware that it does this and it may or may not be their intention. They need to set the permissions of it while it is rezzed in-world, not while it is in their inventory.

Edited by Alyona Su
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/29/2019 at 1:50 PM, Alyona Su said:

Objects will take the most restrictive permissions when inside inventory, including embedded objects or files:

Full perms box with a Mo-Modify box inside it will be No-Modify while in inventory.

No-Copy box inside a no-modify box that is inside a full perms box will become no-modify and no-copy when that full perms box sits in inventory.

So, a full perms box that contains a no-copy box will have the no-copy applied to the full perms box; the no-copy box that contains a no-modify box will have no-modify applied to that no-copy box, and thus, the no-copy AND no-modify attributes of that box is applied to the full perms box - WHILE it sits in your inventory.

HERE IS A KICKER:

If you rez a box and change the permission - for example: a full perms box change it to no-copy then take it into inventory - then change the permissions while it is in inventory to add "no-modify" that no modify permission will apply while it is in inventory for the next owner (say, your customer) - if they rez it then the PREVIOUS (rezzed) permissions will apply - no-copy, but yes: modify. Not always, and certain cascading things need to happen, but it is common. This is why something that appears to be modifiable while in inventory turns into no-modify when it is rezzed, for example.

Make sense?

In your example - while the object was rezzed the permissions where no-copy AND no-modify. Then they took it into inventory, then changed the permissions while it was in inventory to turn on the Modify permission. But when you rezz it, the old rezzed permissions will STICK. If the object is supposed to be modifiable, contact the creator as they may not be aware that it does this and it may or may not be their intention. They need to set the permissions of it while it is rezzed in-world, not while it is in their inventory.

Wow thanks. I get it somewhat.. I think I'll have to meditate on that every day for the next month to really internalize it, but it seems to make sense. Thanks!!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...