HuD Coding--Moving Prims

Zandrae Nova

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1754 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So I've begun making items on Second Life but I found that the number of variations I've made are such that a HUD is ideal.

Unfortunately, I need to move groups of elements on the HUD around (backwards and forwards on the x axis) and I'm not sure exactly how to do this.

What I have:

A HUD, prim buttons including for textures. The buttons for textures work. Each texture button has a unique name button_### and there are roughly five pages of them and likely more in the future--link numbers may change as the thing evolves so I am weary about link numbers.

What I want to do:

When user presses button, if thisGroup of buttons is not at x axis position p, move them to p and move buttons in thisOtherGroup and thisOtherGroupTwo backwards to pos q if they aren't already there.

I'm new to LSL, but I am familiar with Python, Java, Lua, C/C++/C#, and Ruby so I'm not totally clueless but I'm not sure what to do exactly.

Re changeable link numbers: use llGetNumberOfPrims and loop through them checking their names with llGetLinkName (counter) and storing the link numbers in variables or in a list.

Re moving linked prims: use llSetLinkPrimitiveParamsFast with the link number and PRIM_POS_LOCAL. You can combine all the prim position changes into one list, selecting different links with PRIM_LINK_TARGET.

Edited by KT Kingsley
Added links to LSL wiki

Yes,  always refer to links by name rather than by number.  The system that KT suggests is straightforward and simple,  and it gets around the problem you have identified.