Sculpting on a Mac: Help needed

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4568 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I have recently decided that I would like to pursue content creation on SL. I have been working with basic primitives for a a few months or so and I'd like to make the jump to sculpting. The problem is that I don't know how. I did a bit of searching on Google but there are little to no instructions on how to sculpt and texture sculpts on Mac OS X. Most of the programs I have found are Windows OS only. While I did find some Mac friendly programs, I could find no detailed tutorials for them. Does anybody know any decent programs for sculpting and texturing that can be used on Mac OS X? Tutorials would also be greatly appreciated. The programs must be free due to my financial limitations. Thank you for taking the time to help me out, your aid is greatly appreciated!

- Yours truly, Tokyo Garaguru

Sculpting on a Mac is just as easy as on a PC or even easier :D There is a great inWorld sculpting tool called Sculpt Studio it is a little pricy on Lindens and since you said you were limited on funds then Blender is the way to go. It is a little difficult to get the free version installed on a mac but there is good help on how to get it done.

Here is a link to the Machinimatrix site which is a great resource for not only installing the program but also using from a beginner stand point all the way to advanced, I've linked you to the tutorials but if you just go to the home page you will find the downloads for install:

http://blog.machinimatrix.org/3d-creation/video-tutorials/

And here is a link that will help you get it installed when you are having problems, this link is also good resource for blender as well but I feel you should start with Machinimatrix:

http://www.blender.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=70779&sid=c8ccd843623ce74c5aab27a930cd8952