Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
WillowTenage

Is there a way to disable the "Abandon land" button?

Recommended Posts

I often click "About land", to check on my remaining parcel capacity, and I always see the dreaded abandon land button, just sitting there, awaiting for that one slip up to occur¬†ūüėĮ¬† I am terrible when it comes to clicking buttons that were not meant to be clicked, and am afraid that I may one day accidentally hit that button, while navigating menus.

 

So I am hoping there is a way to disable it entirely, I have looked around but haven't found any information regarding it.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There isn't. But if some day you accidentally abandon your land, open a support ticket as soon as you can. Linden Lab will give you back the land if you tell them you abandoned it by accident and didn't wait too long before you contact them about it. At least they will the first time you ask. Probably not the second time and certainly not if you keep doing it.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

It gives you a confirmation screen before you actually have abandoned the land.  Use caution and read the confirmation screens when you get them, and you should be able to avoid catastrophe.   Another option would be to add a prim counter to your land so you don't have to go to about land to find out how many prims you are using.

Edited by TheaDee
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
42 minutes ago, Parhelion Palou said:

If you accidentally abandon land you're renting on a private region, notify your landlord rather than Linden Lab.

and if you abandon a Belliseria home you can often shake hands with the new people.. thei''r faster than you clicked the tp out :)... nop appeal by support possible i guess..

  • Haha 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, WillowTenage said:

I often click "About land", to check on my remaining parcel capacity, and I always see the dreaded abandon land button, just sitting there, awaiting for that one slip up to occur¬†ūüėĮ¬† I am terrible when it comes to clicking buttons that were not meant to be clicked, and am afraid that I may one day accidentally hit that button, while navigating menus.

 

So I am hoping there is a way to disable it entirely, I have looked around but haven't found any information regarding it.  

This is why you should always *stop and read* any pop-up confirmation box. :)

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
21 minutes ago, Alyona Su said:

This is why you should always *stop and read* any pop-up confirmation box. :)

 

15 hours ago, TheaDee said:

It gives you a confirmation screen before you actually have abandoned the land.  Use caution and read the confirmation screens when you get them, and you should be able to avoid catastrophe.   Another option would be to add a prim counter to your land so you don't have to go to about land to find out how many prims you are using.

I swear, my memory is absolutely horrible.¬† I just abandoned land a few days ago and thought I only clicked the abandon button and it all went away.¬† I think I was just really excited about getting my new parcel and rushed through the process without taking note.¬† So since then, I've been worried that just pushing the abandon button would do it with no confirmation.¬†¬†ūü§£

 

Thank you both,  I know it is silly but it really was kind of scaring me every time I opened the about land window.  This actually helps out a lot. 

Edited by WillowTenage
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, WillowTenage said:

Thank you both,  I know it is silly but it really was kind of scaring me every time I opened the about land window. 

Not silly at all. Just no need to be *that* nervous about it. I admit that every time I open that about-land box that "Abandon" button JUMPS OUT AT ME every time. It's like the bogey-man hiding in the closet: you *KNOW* he's always there...

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I never see an "Abandon" button, perhaps because I own the region. ūüėČ But when I was renting, I was very careful around that button. Maybe there should be a cover over it, like there are over the 'kill power' buttons in computer rooms and labs.

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Worse is click on a group, and the Abandon Group button is right next to the button for getting info about the group.  Why they are next to each other like that eludes me.  Thank goodness for confirmation screens.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...