Researcher looking for code examples

Jimy Genesis

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4707 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm a graduate student doing work with computer code -- specifically, I look at how researchers in the humanities can/should start talking about code. I've told my advisor that I planned to spend the term working on code in Second Life, and I'm looking for examples of code to work with. I had originally thought that I would be able to find examples of scripted objects in the game, but I didn't realize so much was going to be set as no-modify.

I've read through the script library and the forums, but what I'm really looking for are examples of what actual users do with scripts -- how they modify example code into something that works for their individual purposes, or how they create something from scratch that works for them. I'm hoping that a few users might be willing to share with me some of their scripts that they've worked on. You  could even send part of a script if you are worried about sending the whole thing.

I know this is an odd request, but I would really appreciate any help anyone can give.

This could be a good place to start at if you're looking at for 'rl SL' examples - you should, I guess, keep an eye on the discussions going on here and if you've found something that may be interesting to you, get in the touch whith the people working onm something they asked a question about. Quite a few of them will be working for customers and have something like an NDA - others may not trust you.

Another thing you should do is to hang out in sandboxes and talk to people there.