Reducing Texture Size

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1819 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm guilty of using 1024 size textures for clothing because I can't get the print fabrics to look clear or pop. But, now I must save at 510 because the size is so small and it's mesh (mesh baby clothes); my question is, what is the magic setting to make the clothing pop at 510 on mesh in Photoshop? I use details like stitching, elements, but they fuzz out at 510. I've tried playing with every possible setting to reduce and save in Targa, PNG, Jpeg, with no good results. I have a tone of clothing made but there's no way I'm uploading these clothes if they don't look sharp.

I've been searching all over Google but nothing really explains this issue, rather it declares the image will not degrade if saved as a TARGA. Wrong, they do! Help... I've been designing for 10 years and I've yet to figure this out! First one is 501, the second is 2014. I hope this sampling works! Thanks for any direction. I know there's tons written but I can't find it!

510.png

1024.jpg

I don't make clothes  but for mesh clothing you can make your texture at a larger size and the uploader will turn that INTO a smaller texture size )1024 I believe holds true for MESH clothing.  If you are uploading 510 textures the uploader will resize to 512 and automatically make it more blurry -- so you DO want at least 512s.

When I textured mesh clothes in Opensim I used larger textures with no issues. 

Another thing that many designers do is to use SEVERAL textures for one garment -- often as many as four for a blouse. Yes, this causes lag, but it is still done.   

My suggestion would be to try making your texture at 2048 and seeing if that improves. The uploader will change these to 1024s.