Jump to content

Seeing a blocked account has IM’d you


You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 549 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Recommended Posts

I was once told by someone that even after they blocked someone, they still got some sort of indication that the blocked person had sent an IM (which then causes a desire to see what was written, and essentially undo the block).  

 

At the time, I believe I found an answer on these forums (some setting in preferences?).

Now, I’ve had someone tell me the same thing again, but I can’t find the earlier Q&A.

Is there a setting somewhere that makes sure there is no indication whatsoever that a blocked avatar IM’d you?  I’m assuming that is the default, but the person accidentally check a box they shouldn’t have.

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Even if the typing indicator is turned off (and I don't advise that, as then you would not know when ANYONE was typing you a message), banned avatars can still make their presence known in at least two ways:

  • They can still interact with you physically...bump you.  Even though they appear to be a gray ghost.
  • They can still send you money.  Actually, I don't consider this harassment, I just add it to my Shoe Fund.
  • Like 3
Link to post
Share on other sites
33 minutes ago, Lindal Kidd said:

They can still send you money.  Actually, I don't consider this harassment, I just add it to my Shoe Fund.

Is this still true? I thought since they can’t buy anything on the marketplace maybe that included sending money directly.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone know if a person who has been blocked gets any kind of 'you've been blocked' message when they send you a message?  I mean we do get messages if people give or remove permissions from us, so I wouldn't be surprised if someone who was blocked would get a note saying that 'sorry, this person is not receiving your messages' -- even if it doesn't indicate why.

Thanks,

Blue

Link to post
Share on other sites
33 minutes ago, DeepBlueJoy said:

Does anyone know if a person who has been blocked gets any kind of 'you've been blocked' message when they send you a message?  I mean we do get messages if people give or remove permissions from us, so I wouldn't be surprised if someone who was blocked would get a note saying that 'sorry, this person is not receiving your messages' -- even if it doesn't indicate why.

Thanks,

Blue

As far as I am aware, someone that you have blocked will not receive any indication of that UNLESS you have chosen to turn on "send autoresponse to MUTED avatars" (which is an option in the Firestorm viewer preferences at least - haven't checked if it's in the other viewers). 

There is also an option In the chat window in the Firestorm viewer for "showing muted chat in nearby chat transcript" but that is also an option that has to be explicitly turned on, and I'm not sure why anyone would want to do that...  I have not tried it out, so I don't know exactly how it works or how it displays it.  It seems counter-productive to block someone and then turn on an option to see what they said anyway. 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 549 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...