Collaborative Design Game in Second Life

AlinaNazmeeva

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1788 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi Everyone, 

I am Alina, I am relatively new to Second Life ( have registered a bit more than a year ago). Currently I am working on my Master Thesis in Architecture and Urbanism at MIT.  I have been working for a while on the topic of virtual worlds and the importance of online graphic virtual environments and the implications of their design to contemporary culture. I believe that wider design community (not only virtual world or game designers) should look at virtual worlds as some of the critical social, experiential and cultural places of contemporary world. I am currently studying and exploring Second Life as a main case study for my thesis, because I am mostly interested in collaborative environments and platforms, where the residents themselves design every artifact found in them. 

For my thesis I have been designing a game-like collaborative design experience, which I need to launch in Second Life.

I am almost done with the design of the structure and rules for it, got the land for it and have been experimenting with 3d-modeling and uploading models from different software ( I work in 3dsmax, Cinema4d and Sketchup).

Regarding the land: The land is 5000m2: not so big but should suffice for the first playtest! That in my opinion can work for the group of ~9 people. Based on the results of this test, I could think of the modifications for the larger space.

Regarding the built elements: I propose to create a library of 3d elements which can be used. It will potentially save time and will open the experiment for the people who are not professional builders.

Below is the short description of general logic of the experiment, which I am very happy to share for your comments but also it is time for me to find the people who would be interested in participation.