How to be safe in SL? What is griefing? What should i be aware of?

Sammie Kiyori

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1805 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hello,

Reading some posts (scary) and being a newbie I want to be smart in my SL life or my new addiction (haha). I especially want to keep RL separated from SL life. So if you could give the basics of the dark or bad side of SL. Thank you so much for your help any would be appreciated. 

Edited by rtthgrls

15 answers to this question

Hi rtthgrls!  Welcome to Second Life.  As others have said, I teach a class on Avatar Safety at Caledon Oxbridge University, on Sundays at 10 am SL Time (PDT, the time shown by your viewer).  It's free to attend!

But, just to ease your mind a bit...my class covers all sorts of griefer "attacks", scams, and hazards...BUT these are all the exception, not the rule.  For the most part, Second Life is a very safe and fun place.  So...be a little cautious, a little skeptical...but don't let it spoil your fun.

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1

11 minutes ago, rtthgrls said:

Hello,

Reading some posts (scary) and being a newbie I want to be smart in my SL life or my new addiction (haha). I especially want to keep RL separated from SL life. So if you could give the basics of the dark or bad side of SL. Thank you so much for your help any would be appreciated. 

Take Lindall Kidd's safety class at Oxbridge Caledon University.

• Like 5