Loop sound - volume control?

Leoplod

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1844 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I have little scripting experience, so please bear with me - I also searced the forums for a couple hours, but without result

I try to use a simple loop sound script, but it doesn't make any difference in sound volume whether I set "float vol" to 0.1 or 1.0

Can someone please help me with this? I need to make the faint fountain sound louder - it makes no difference whether I have the sound in the prim with the script or use the UUID

Thanks...

float min = 1;

float max = 30;

float vol = 0.5;

// Sound to play.
key sound = "Fountain";

{
    state_entry()
    {

llLoopSound(sound, vol);

}        
}

7 minutes ago, Qie Niangao said:

What happens if you llStopSound() first, before starting to loop it again?

Also, be sure the sound is loud enough when you play it directly from inventory. Imported sounds tend to sound quieter in-world than they seem in, say, Audacity.

When SL compress the sound file on download it reduces the vol to about 50% of Audacity. At a guess i would say SL converts the file to mono.

Edited by steph Arnott

Like Qie guessed, you have to first stop the sound before you can play it again with a different volume. (I think this is because playing a looping sound that is already playing is ignored.) Though, fun fact; there's a function called llAdjustSoundVolume which can change the volume of a looping sound without restarting it. It's not particularly helpful here, but maybe elsewhere.

Edited by Wulfie Reanimator
  • Like 1

2 hours ago, Qie Niangao said:

What happens if you llStopSound() first, before starting to loop it again?

Also, be sure the sound is loud enough when you play it directly from inventory. Imported sounds tend to sound quieter in-world than they seem in, say, Audacity.

Thanks for the replies to all...