Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
stingnthetale

Can i reset edit?

Recommended Posts

Silly me! Decided to edit shoes wth the arrows in edit to get them to fit better, but as you may have guessed, I totally messed up. I dont suppose there is any reset button that I can use?

Thanks a lot

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sometimes, I think, if you hit Ctrl-Z while still in edit mode it will reset the last mistake? But it's probably too late for that.

I'm assuming that you didn't make a copy (if the shoes had copy perms). Likely you'll have already worked out that it's best not to edit the original, but to work on a copy instead.

As you weren't working from a HUD (which often has a reset button), the best bet might, at this point, be to see if the maker has a redelivery terminal in their store: if they do, you can likely get a new copy of the shoes sent to you. Failing that, try sending a notecard to the maker, explaining the mistake, and asking very nicely for a new copy?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If they came in a delivery box, and you still have that, you can just open it again if it in copy, also items bought in marketplace can be redelivery do directly from the order history page.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've messed up a few times when editing something. Besides making general errors or clumsy slips, I sometime fluff my mouse-button control. For some reason it's not uncommon for my fingers hovering over the right mouse-button (which I don't want touch) relax and press, causing things to go awry.

In addition to what others have said, when I realise I have messed-up an edit (and not made a copy) and will struggle to get things back-to-normal, what I DO NOT do is remove the item.. keep wearing it. Then go into inventory, find the messed-up item you are wearing and make a copy, preferably into a new or other folder to make it easy to know which is the spoiled one.

In a nutshell; Changes only become permanent once you remove the item. While still wearing it the changes are not yet final, so make that copy before removal.

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Candice LittleBoots said:

In addition to what others have said, when I realise I have messed-up an edit (and not made a copy) and will struggle to get things back-to-normal, what I DO NOT do is remove the item.. keep wearing it. Then go into inventory, find the messed-up item you are wearing and make a copy, preferably into a new or other folder to make it easy to know which is the spoiled one.

In a nutshell; Changes only become permanent once you remove the item. While still wearing it the changes are not yet final, so make that copy before removal.

Well, I've been using the build tools for over 10 years, and I had absolutely no idea that this was the case! What a really useful tip!!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
On 4/1/2019 at 6:02 AM, Scylla Rhiadra said:
On 3/31/2019 at 8:09 PM, Candice LittleBoots said:

In addition to what others have said, when I realise I have messed-up an edit (and not made a copy) and will struggle to get things back-to-normal, what I DO NOT do is remove the item.. keep wearing it. Then go into inventory, find the messed-up item you are wearing and make a copy, preferably into a new or other folder to make it easy to know which is the spoiled one.

In a nutshell; Changes only become permanent once you remove the item. While still wearing it the changes are not yet final, so make that copy before removal.

Well, I've been using the build tools for over 10 years, and I had absolutely no idea that this was the case! What a really useful tip!!!!

Not entirely related to the OP, but somewhat on-topic is the permissions system.

Note that this (as quoted) is also true for rezzable items (pay attention all you creators): If you have a full-permissions item in inventory and change the permissions on it there (via Properties widget) - those permissions will not go into effect until the item is *rezzed*. So it will remain full perms, even for the next owner... until they rez it. This is also true if you have an rezzed item and you set permissions in-world, then take it into inventory - then change those permissions in inventory. When it is rezzed again, it will assume the *previous* permissions settings.

So, for all you shoppers, if you buy something that is COPY and NO-TRANSFER and received a NO-COPY and TRANSFER item: chances are it is this common mistake some creators can make. Rather than a negative review, it's probably better to just ask politely for a replacement. :)

Edited by Alyona Su
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for all the helpful advice, have managed to get it sorted out with subtle arrow edits,but lesson learned,if it aint broken dont fix it.

Thanks again.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...