Multiscript Top Menu

Parasite Palen

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4709 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hey all.

So I'm making an item with multiple scripts that will start on touch, but I don't want several menus popping up. Have had problems with this in the past on stuff I've bought.

I'm not that good at scripting but have some basic knowledge and can understand or adapt some scripts to my needs.

Is it possible to create one menu which links to the other menus? A top menu so to speak with a button to select which of the on-touch menus I actually want to mess with.

Would this require editing the other scripts to take out the touch start?

Pointing me to the appropriate place to learn for myself would be as much appreciated as it being explained.

Thanks in advance.

Indeed, there are many of us that do that.  And several approachs to accomplish it, depending on whether or not your menus are static (like sitting position in a hot tub) or dynamic (radio stations).

The simple solution when you know your menu structure and know it won't change is to have a list of the menus with a different suffix.  Like:

integer menuSelect = 0;

list menu0 = ["1", "2", "3"];

list menu1 = ["a", "b", "c"];

list menu2 = ["d", "e", "f"];

list menu3 = ["g", "h, "i"];

When touched, the menuselect is set to 0 and you llDialog the menu0.  Select 1, and you then llDialog the menu1.  Etc etc. 

for dynamic menus, you generate a temporary list of the data you need upon reciept of command for that menu.  Then you insert list items for Next and Prev into it.  Pressing Next increases a counter by 10 and remakes the list starting at that counter, again adding the Prev and Next items.  Prev decrements by 10 and repopulates the list going out to the llDialog.  This is more complex but if you make a subroutine MakeList(menunum, startfrom) that returns the list to throw out to llDialog, it's quite compact.