Terraforming troubleshooting - flatten tool

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1763 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to terraforming but I've been doing it on my land (private sim) for several months now. I've built hills and valleys and cliffs etc. Recently it seems the flatten tool isn't flattening like it once did. In areas where I've built and flattened multiple times, the flatten tool is now creating a bumpy surface instead of a flat one. I haven't changed the way I do it and it always worked before. I can't revert the parcel because I've spent a lot of time building on it and don't want to start over. Any suggestions as to why this is happening? And please note; I don't understand most of the technical jargon, which makes this even more difficult for me to figure out. Thank you in advance!

Experimenting with the terraforming tools can be fun, frustrating, and frightening.  I had a tenant a few years ago who decided to make a "tiny him" on her parcel and ended up with a 500m  tall spike that needed serious flattening.

The Flatten tool adjusts the terrain within the sampled area to the height detected at it center.  When I use it, therefore, my first act is to use the Raise or Lower tool to set some point at roughly the height that I want everything else to reach eventually.  Then, I start with a moderately large Flatten tool and a very gentle strength, centered on my starting point. I move it smoothly in a sort of swirling fashion so that the flattening effect is gradual at the edges of the area.  If I am confident that it's doing what I want, I can then increase the size or the strength of the tool to work over a larger area, always remembering to keep the center of the tool inside an area that I have already adjusted to my desired final height.