Event triggered If two or more people touch an object, or do something simultaneously

AlinaNazmeeva

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1837 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi everyone,

I am very new in SL and just started learning LSL scripting, and have almost zero programming experience. 

I wonder if it is possible to script certain events triggered by multiple other events, happening in a certain time range.

I have been thinking of designing a game-like collaborative experience, where people could build/design something together by rearranging and moving around prefabricated pieces, like lego. I want to trigger certain events(door opening, other objects appear) if multiple people do something, for example they touch some object at the same time (or within 10 seconds). Or if they place some objects in certain locations on the land, it triggers other things.

Do you think it is realistic to make something like that? I know I have very limited skills, but maybe someone can give me any tips how to start scripting in that direction?

I think I do have a relatively clear understanding of what are the potential events and what can trigger them, and the variables included within these events/triggers. But no clue how to script it:) 

I hope this question makes sense! 

here is what I would try

1. create a global dummy integer variable set it to 0
  2. at touch start set it to 1 , at touch end set it to 0 again
  3. create if clause
  4. in case dummy integer already is 1 at touch start ... execute colaborative event thing

No guarantee 2 persons can touch at once though, but would be my first try on this...

if it does not work make timer event reset 1 to 0 after 10 seconds...

Edited by Fionalein
  • Thanks 1

Yes, what you describe is quite possible within LSL. And as you will see, there are many ways to approach solving problems. :)