What is "Dullahan"?

arabellajones

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 161 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've had some odd experiences with streaming media, and I am wondering just where this Dullahan thing comes from. It seems to be a web engine, handling all the various connections that the viewer uses, but while every web browser I have installed can still handle Flash videos, Dullahan can't. The usual solution recommended is to install pepperflash, which is the library used by Google Chrome, so I installed it. (That was a bit of a carry-on, many sites describe it as "deprecated") Things work on Opera, Firefox, and Chromium, but Flash doesn't work with the Dullahan system

I found that test game on the home page used by the viewer's internal web browser.  It works with the external browsers, not through Dullahan.

There seem to be two possible libraries to use. Adobe Flash, which is on the way out, only getting security updates now, and pepperflash which is provided by Google, but only supports one of the two possible APIs. I have tried both libraries. They have worked with the three browser I have. Neither have worked. with Dullahan.

OK, so Flash End-of-Life will come at the end of 2020, and that may be reason enough for the Dullahan developers, whoever they are, not to bother with this problem. But there are video sites which still use Flash. And if Dullahan can't detect a library that other web software can use, who should I be prodding? If it's not handling a library properly, what else might break? What's breaking the connection; Dullahan or the library?

I have a horrible suspicion that Dullahan is something provided for TPVs by Linden Lab, but where do they get it from?

• Like 1

Dullahan is a headless browser SDK that uses the Chromium Embedded Framework.
https://bitbucket.org/lindenlab/dullahan/src
It's named after the headless rider: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dullahan