Change properties of child object when clicked

Olivia Rizzo

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1876 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello I am totally new to this (first day) so please bear with me on wrong terminology. I have searched but not found the answer.

I have made a prim to be a light source, and put this script into it. Now clicking it the light switches on and off. Success! But....

integer on_off = FALSE; //STARTS IN THE OFF POSITION

{
    touch_start(integer total_number)
    {
        if (on_off == TRUE)
        {
            llSetPrimitiveParams([
                PRIM_POINT_LIGHT, FALSE, <1, 1, 1>, 1.0, 10.0, 0.75,
                PRIM_GLOW ,ALL_SIDES,0,
                PRIM_FULLBRIGHT, 3, TRUE
            ]);
            llOwnerSay("You switched off the light");
            on_off = FALSE;                            
        }

else
        {
            llSetPrimitiveParams([
                PRIM_POINT_LIGHT, TRUE, <1, 1, 1>, 1.0, 10.0, 0.75,
                PRIM_GLOW ,ALL_SIDES,1,
                PRIM_FULLBRIGHT, 3, FALSE
            ]);
            llOwnerSay("You switched on the light");
            on_off = TRUE;  
        }
    }
}

Now I want the light source to be just one part of a linked set of prims. How do I make it so that if you click on the 'grouped' items the light source itself (which is only one of the linked items) turns on and off but the other items are not affected?

I am wondering if there is a way to say which one of the 'child' prims should be targeted by the `llSetPrimitiveParams()` command?

Thank you in advance :)

Hiya - thank you

The first link just went to the top of the page for llSetPrimitiveParams which I was already looking at so I was a bit confused.