Attach / Detach Via Experience Permissions

Northmani

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1859 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi everyone, I'm a beginner scripter, looking for some advice. I've created a HUD that I am looking to attach to visiting Avatars to my sim, then to detach when they leave the sim.

Im wondering how this could be made possible. Any advice welcome, I have experiences set up on my region already just need the attach and detach assist please.

5 minutes ago, Northmani said:

Hi everyone, I'm a beginner scripter, looking for some advice. I've created a HUD that I am looking to attach to visiting Avatars to my sim, then to detach when they leave the sim.

Im wondering how this could be made possible. Any advice welcome, I have experiences set up on my region already just need the attach and detach assist please.

Well the script can do a change event for detatch and then die. Never tried it though.

• Like 1

I did it with an old combat system. My method was as follows :

Put the hud inside a box A

Have Box A scan the sim and create a list of avatars on a timer....we will call this list "Scan"

Check that list against another list of people who are already in the sim we will call this list "InSim"

Anyone who is already in the "InSim" list is deleted from the "Scan" list

You then loop through the "Scan" list (Only people who are new will remain)

For each person in the list you :

-Set the Box A description as their key

-Rez the HUD

-Have the HUD grab the person key from the description of Box A using llGetObjectDetails. 

-Request for experience permissions using llRequestExperiencePermissions.....

-When accepted in the experience_permissions event you use llAttachToAvatarTemp..

-Also dont forget to move the persons key from the list "Scan" to the list "InSim"

You might also want to compare "InSim" to "Scan" to remove people from "InSim" who are no longer in the sim