LogOut/Region Change - Events in scripts

Wandering Soulstar

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1884 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi All,

99% sure I know the answer already, but thought I'd check. From code in a HUD we can identify when an AV (and thus the HUD and script) changes regions, when they log-in, and when they attach/remove the HUD .. but from the code in the HUD:

• We cannot tell when the user logs out
  • We only know about the region change when we arrive in the new region, nothing about us leaving the previous region

From everything I have read in the wiki the above two limitations hold true. My question is, am I missing something somewhere that would allow my code (in the HUD) to identify these two events?

As a relative amateur I await a response form someone more experienced but

• Log-out I understand can't be detected, I use heartbeat scripts to show continuing presence
  • Change of region surely doesn't happen till you arrive as if the teleport fails for any reason you'll still be in the old region.
Edited by LissomePrey
typing even worse than usual today

4 hours ago, Wandering Soulstar said:

Hi All,

99% sure I know the answer already, but thought I'd check. From code in a HUD we can identify when an AV (and thus the HUD and script) changes regions, when they log-in, and when they attach/remove the HUD .. but from the code in the HUD:

• We cannot tell when the user logs out
  • We only know about the region change when we arrive in the new region, nothing about us leaving the previous region

From everything I have read in the wiki the above two limitations hold true. My question is, am I missing something somewhere that would allow my code (in the HUD) to identify these two events?

Could use a timed ping back so if no ping the agent has left.

2 minutes ago, steph Arnott said:

Could use a timed ping back so if no ping the agent has left