TechDave

Listen to Nearby Chat....

OK.. I'm a beginner here.. tho do know enough to be 'dangerous' with scripting. I've search library for what I'm seeking but didn't find anything. I THINK it's a simple addition to my overall project. 

I want a script to 'listen' to Nearby Chat for a specific 4 letter word. When word is entered, then I want to 'continue' to do next task... then reset to idle listening again. 

1.. Listen for WORD

2. WORD is entered... so continue

3. Do next thing (got script for this... basically.. Get Data and OwnerSay)

4. Return to Listen for that WORD again. 

May be heading into the tutorials if I can't find anything, which is what I should do.. but I thought I'd ask here first!  Thanks for any comment/help!! 

It's a very simple matter.  In the listen event, simply include a conditional test

if ( llSubStringIndex( llToLower(message), "word" ) != -1 )
{
    // Do something
}

where "word" is your designated word, typed all lower case.  However ..... you should be aware that keeping an open listener on the PUBLIC_CHANNEL (channel 0) puts a demand on the region servers that can create measurable chat lag for others, especially if there are many people within chat range.  This sort of script is quite generally frowned upon, so ask yourself seriously whether this is necessary.

Edited by Rolig Loon
  • Like 2

OR you could set your listen to filter (listen) for just that word:

llListen(PUBLIC_CHANNEL, "", NULL_KEY, "word");

Then you would not need the conditional check in your listen event, and said event code is not firing constantly when people are speaking nearby .. you do lose the flexibility that Rolig's method hase, my example will not hear 'Word', 'WORD', 'word ' etc., nor will it hear it as part of an overall statement ... only 'word'