Best laptop for SL. Don’t have desktop room.

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1921 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hubby is going to buy me a laptop..was for Xmas but I’m not really good at computers and I’m getting so confused. I need to get a laptop not a desktop. I do some building and I have a place I live that has lag. Love to decorate and shop for furniture. I also do tarot card readings. Not going to crowded places ..I’m a hermit, but I do sail. So would love some serious ideas about the best graphics laptop so I don’t get kicked off. I’m using an old Dell now and I get to stay on for 10 minutes tops before I get bumped off. If you get technical with your responses I have a friend who builds laptops and he can help me figure out the specifics. SL is my get away space from the daily hassles of life. I don’t want it to be another source of aggravation.  Thank you all in advance! I’d like to stay under $1,200.00.

Edited by Jypsee Ametza
Add more info

I have a new Acer Aspire that works very well for SL.  It has 16 GB of core memory, a NVidia GTX1060 graphics card with 6 GB of memory on it, and a 256GB SSD hard drive.  The screen is 17", so it has a nice big viewing area.  When I bought it in September, NewEgg had it on sale for something around $1000.  They usually have something comparable in that price range.  The only drawback at all is that it doesn't have a cable connection, so I have to use wifi, which cuts into performance a bit.  Still, I use it primarily away from home, where a cable would usually be a disadvantage anyway.  Oh, and it doesn't have a CD/DVD drive, but you can get a very good portable one for under $30.  All in all, I still prefer my desktop while I am home, but this laptop is a great improvement over the one I had before.

• Thanks 1