Skybox etiquette

Asylum Habilis

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1941 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm new to apartment rentals but I'm sure someone here can lemme know. Is there an etiquette to putting a skybox on a rented space? I'm well below my prim count at the moment and plan to continue to respect it (I'm at 52/200 right now) but should I ask my landlord first or something?  I'm not paying for tier or anything, just clicked a rental box by an apartment and i'm around 1700ft, when I forgot to set a landmark I did see a couple boxes floating around as i flew back up. Is it no rules but prim count and proximity and of course, minding you stay on your parcel? 

2 minutes ago, Asylum Habilis said:

I'm new to apartment rentals but I'm sure someone here can lemme know. Is there an etiquette to putting a skybox on a rented space? I'm well below my prim count at the moment and plan to continue to respect it (I'm at 52/200 right now) but should I ask my landlord first or something?  I'm not paying for tier or anything, just clicked a rental box by an apartment and i'm around 1700ft, when I forgot to set a landmark I did see a couple boxes floating around as i flew back up. Is it no rules but prim count and proximity and of course, minding you stay on your parcel? 

You should speak to the landlord or check your covenant.  Different companies have different rules on skyboxes; height, proximity etc 

• Like 3

The common etiquette in SL is that skyboxes are fine above the visible range of the ground, unless a local policy says otherwise. The issue then becomes what is the visible range...

Some places will try to rent out the sky above you, and so make rules over that. Best to avoid rentals like that as things get cluttered and laggy fast.

The other common reason against a skybox will be to preserve the view at certain heights. Usually below 1000m. Some go lower.