Prim to Dae

Paul Hexem

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1897 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So, I know it's possible to take prims, export them as .dae, and upload them again as mesh. It's a quick, easy way to take advantage of extra features that mesh offers while still using basic shapes.

I'm curious though. The textures (UV wrap?) seem to get fouled up in the process. Is there an easy way to overcome this, or is the only option to unwrap by hand in external 3D software?

I would say (being a total Noob on this subject)… Unwrapping in Blender and 'fixing' would be the answer.

Altho… I did notice with recent FS 6.0 update that it's recommended to use SL ONLY version of FS 6... IF you are going to upload mesh. Dunno if that's an issue affecting UV mapping or not. I don't have any 'test' experience to tell about.. just noticed that and I need to downgrade FS because I usually install full versions)

1 hour ago, TechDave said:

I would say (being a total Noob on this subject)… Unwrapping in Blender and 'fixing' would be the answer.

Altho… I did notice with recent FS 6.0 update that it's recommended to use SL ONLY version of FS 6... IF you are going to upload mesh. Dunno if that's an issue affecting UV mapping or not. I don't have any 'test' experience to tell about.. just noticed that and I need to downgrade FS because I usually install full versions)

I always find that importing a dae that has been exported needs a new UV made in blender (or something expensive).  Just importing to blender, and making a smart UV unwrap is occasionally enough for something simple.