The Fabulous Forum Electro-Disco Dance Party

Scylla Rhiadra

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1972 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Ok, so I like dancing, a lot.

I like dancing in RL, although I don't get to do it as often as I used to, but I also very much like dancing in SL. My virtual dancing obsession began when I was a noob, and didn't have an AO yet. I hated watching my avi stand around looking dorkish and restless, but I discovered that I could dance instead. I had a few pretty basic dances someone had given me, and I used them pretty much all the time I wasn't actually walking or flying. I danced while I talked to people. I danced while I looked at things. I danced in public squares, in art galleries, and on roofs. (The latter is a bit of a story in itself maybe.)

Obviously, I'm not the only one: dancing is HUGE in SL. I'm not sure why it is so pleasing (and for me, calming) to watch your avatar engage in a preordained series of graceful and elegant contortions on screen. Maybe it has something to do with the way in which proprioception -- the sense we have that we "occupy" our own bodies -- is extended into the virtual realm too. (The posthumanist theorist Katherine Hayles has noted that video game players attest to this sense all of the time; she should have spoken to us.)

Anyhooooooo . . . I like dancing, but i haven't bought a new dance in, like, 8 years, and so I'd love to hear (and see) what your favourite SL dance is! Tell us what YOU like to dance, and post a picture of it! (If you can do a GIF, even better!) And maybe tell us what you were listening to while you were dancing it!

So, here's my current favourite dance, the imaginatively entitled "1-VARACDAN0" that came bundled in my AO. I need better dances: HELP ME, PEOPLE!

Dance-1.png

And here's what I was listening to while dancing it:

Edited by Scylla Rhiadra
Adding music