Jump to content
  • 0
DreamGG

Move Objects

Question

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
1 hour ago, DreamGG said:

how do you allow your friends and partner to move objects  in your home?

 

give them permission to do so, you can set so in their profile ( legacy profiles ; last tab under your notes)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Be aware, please, that any friend you grant edit rights to can pick up and take any items that are transfer. Some sex beds for example. 

Only give edit rights to people who you really trust.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Hi Dream!

Ethan's method will work fine if you just have a few individuals to worry about, but it presents a security risk as Callum points out.  People you grant this permission to can move or take your objects ANYWHERE, not just in your home, and not just certain objects.

Another method is to form a group.  Here is information on how to do that: https://community.secondlife.com/knowledgebase/english/creating-managing-moderating-and-disbanding-groups-r48/  NOTE:  Once you create a group, you have 48 hours to add at least one other person to it, or it will dissolve.  I strongly recommend that you invite your own alt first.  ("Alt": an alternate Second Life account.  If you don't have one, create one by going through the sign up process just like you originally did.)  ONLY you and your own alt should ever be in the Owner role in the group.  Once you make anyone else an Owner, the door is open for conflict and Drama down the road.

Anyway...once you have your group, you can invite your partner and friends to join it.  Then you can use the group as a way to let them edit objects that you designate, and ONLY those objects.

Torley Linden has made a great video tutorial about both methods: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=18&v=UgJPUQQbQSg

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
12 hours ago, Ethan Paslong said:

give them permission to do so, you can set so in their profile ( legacy profiles ; last tab under your notes)

I never knew those boxes were there - never paid attention apparently. I've always granted those permissions via the icons on the Friends list.

TIL

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×