Laptop Recommendations

Drakisha

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2048 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

What would be the best/decent  laptop for someone who spends up to 5 hrs on SL, sim hop to events constantly (uses mid settings), who does photos and/or videos (uses high settings). Also that can run games like World of Warcraft or Sims 4 etc. Preferably able to change components for later upgrades if that's possible? And within $500-$1000 price range. I am not tech savvy so any advice is greatly appreciated!

5 answers to this question

12 minutes ago, Drakisha said:

What would be the best/decent  laptop for someone who spends up to 5 hrs on SL, sim hop to events constantly (uses mid settings), who does photos and/or videos (uses high settings). Also that can run games like World of Warcraft or Sims 4 etc. Preferably able to change components for later upgrades if that's possible? And within $500-$1000 price range. I am not tech savvy so any advice is greatly appreciated!

I got this one about 6 months ago.  Love it.  I use high settings. ALM always on and occasionally have had to have 3 viewers logged in.  Not able to upgrade things though as far as I know but I am not tech savvy either

https://www.msi.com/Laptop/GV72-7RE.html 

• Like 1

My recommendation would be...no laptop!

Cindy's suggestion, and many others in the same price/performance range, will work just fine.

However, laptops tend to run hot when using resource heavy applications like SL and games.  You'll want to at least get some sort of auxiliary cooling solution.

They have small screens.  Even a gaming laptop has only a 17" screen.  I'm used to seeing SL on at least a 24" monitor, and a 27" is even better.

They cost more than a desktop computer of equivalent performance.