Sign in to follow this  
Nevliel

Face mesh & body mesh?

Hi, I'm new to SL and wanted to get some head&body mesh but I'm really confused which one works with which because there's a ton of them. For example, I want to buy a Genesis head mesh but what body mesh goes with it? Does brand matter? Do you have to apply skin to the head mesh? What is a bento head? And which is the best price?

I'm sorry for so many questions but yeah I'm really confused

Mesh heads and bodies are nearly all compatible with each other, so you can combine head and body from different makers no problem.

You do have to apply matching skins to both parts. Most heads and bodies come with a bundled selection of skins, and sometimes it just happens that the skins in both parts were made by the same makers and all you have to do is choose matching tones from the head and body HUDs, but that is the exception. Usually you would buy a skin package which includes a skin compatible with both your particular body and head, or separate body and head skins in the same tone from the same maker. "Compatible" means either designed specifically for your body/head brand, or an Omega skin which is compatible with almost all mesh heads (I'm not sure about Genesis) and bodies. To use an Omega skin you usually need to have an Omega relay/installer for your body/head brand - a separate purchase.

Mesh heads are available in Bento and non-Bento forms, while quality mesh bodies are nearly all Bento. "Bento" is the name of a Linden Lab project to add extra bones to the avatar skeleton about 2 years ago. A Bento head allows you to adjust the shape of the head's features and use generic face animations. A non-Bento head is usually cheaper but its features are fixed, apart from a few built-in animations in some heads. In a body, Bento enables fingers to be moved separately, and allows you to add animated wings, tails, and other attachments.