Texture Editing 101

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2079 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm a noob when it comes to building and dealing with textures. Can someone recommend a good video tutorial? I see several online. Just want to watch the one that's most current

In a nutshell: I put a prefab home on a hill. And I then put a block shape under the home, and I'd like to copy one of the textures of the home and add it to the block under the home. 

Thanks.

1 hour ago, Egonya said:

I'm a noob when it comes to building and dealing with textures. Can someone recommend a good video tutorial? I see several online. Just want to watch the one that's most current

In a nutshell: I put a prefab home on a hill. And I then put a block shape under the home, and I'd like to copy one of the textures of the home and add it to the block under the home. 

Thanks.

You can't do that unless the builder gives you the texture. You "may" (depending on how the house is made and if it is modify) be able to take a "wall" with the texture you want to copy and resize and adjust the textures for your needs. 

Thanks for responding.

The prefab home is a Trompe Loeil, and according to the notecard that came with it: "All parts of the build except for scripts and animations should be both modify and copy. "

So I was hoping that means I can copy one of the textures and paste it onto a prim that I've created that's functioning as a kind of foundation for a place where I can't terraform the sloping land anymore to raise it to meet the home's base.

See the attached photo. I would like to take the texture from the home's prefab foundation (the strip of stone wall along the base) and add it to the prim that at the moment looks like natural wood.

Is that not possible?

faraway06_001.png

1 hour ago, Egonya said:

Can you all recommend stores where I can buy textures?