What laptop would you recommend for Second Life?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2095 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I currently don’t have enough room in my house to put in a desktop computer and I often enjoy the benefits to having a laptop computer as you can travel with it and it’s compact. 

At the moment I’m not financially able to get a new laptop or desktop PC for that matter, but eventually I hope to someday upgrade from the purgatory that is my current—four going on five year old—laptop. My current FPS at any given time is always 0.5-5.0 at any sim that isn’t blank. Even at low settings. So, yeah I think it’s time for an upgrade, but I just wanted to ask what laptop would you guys recommend that would be able to run SL at ultra settings and smoothly? I’m not tech savvy, so I have no idea about computers that much. 

• Confused 1

Have a look at a gaming laptop like the Dell Alienware 13. It has a powerful graphics card and fast processor. It is not as compact as a business laptop, and quite heavy, because all this power that you need for Ultra settings requires goo component and a lot of cooling.

One of the many reviews: http://ie.ign.com/articles/2017/06/06/alienware-13-gaming-laptop-review 

I have a desktop computer but would like a laptop for general use that can also run SL pretty well. Has anybody experience with the Microsoft Surface Book 2 (13 or 15 inch) or the Dell XPS 15 inch? If you have can you tell what it is like to use SL on them?

Edited by Vicky Steins

Shop by how much ram it has, 16GB min. That will filter out a whole-mess of machines that  aren't worth considering, straight line CPU speed is important so is cooling. If you have ram and solid cooling, then the GPU will be practically a given.