Second Life viewer doesn't run on Windows 10

8Viatrix8

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2103 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hello everyone,

I just bought a laptop on Windows 10, Acer Aspire VX5-591G, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7700HQ CPU @ 2.80GHz  2.80Ghz, 16.0 GB, 64-bit.

I have no experience with Windows 10, I play Second Life (still) with my windows7. I thought of buying a new laptop might make my SL game better.

I already downloaded Second Life several times but I am receiving a message something about Firefox, or if I left click or right click the download arrow on the upper right of the monitor, it is asking me to download an app which I have no idea which to click from all those options, which I have no idea what they are for.

I am not a computer savvy. I bought this mainly for Second Life and was very excited to finally play on this new laptop. But now, I am just disappointed, scared and angry.

Your help will be much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Ps. I also now discovered that. same as SL Download, Adobe also, just up to the download process, but no option to "Save" :((, meaning I also can't play the games that I play on Facebook.

Edited by 8Viatrix8

5 answers to this question

There are some different ways to get into SL. Chic is giving you the BEST basic way. When you download and install the viewer it will make minor changes to your Win-10. THen the alternate ways to get into SL will likely work.

If you have not installed the SL viewer and you use an alternate away in by clicking on the website Destination Guide's Visit Here button or any SLURL (unique URL's directing one to regions in SL), Windows (any version) will launch an Internet Browser, e.g., Firefox, Chrome, Edge, something, and try to get you to download and install a viewer. I think this is where you are having problems. So, use Chic's advice.