gceniceros209

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2040 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello everybody,

I am new to this game and haven't had much experience in meeting other people. I was just curious as to whether people actually create meaningful relationships with other residents. I was hoping some of you could share your stories of some of the most memorable moments you've experienced in Second Life. What is you're favorite aspect of Second Life and why do you continue to play it? What kind of impact has Second Life had in your real life? As you guys can probably tell, I'm a college student and I am writing a research paper on this virtual community. I would love to make friends and would appreciate it if someone would show me the ropes. So far, my experience in Second Life has been pretty positive but I know there's a lot more to see.  Please share your stories with me.

• Like 2

2 minutes ago, Fionalein said:

Yes it happens I made and lost some friends. Didn't gain any RL friendy yet though.

Is the way you interact with people in Second Life different than how you would talk to people IRL? Did you start playing Second Life in hopes of making friends? Are you part of any groups in Second Life? And thank you for responding to this thread Fionalein, I appreciate it. 

• Like 1

19 minutes ago, gceniceros209 said:

would appreciate it if someone would show me the ropes.

Start by filling out your profile.  First step to making friends is let people know your interests, likes dislikes and a blank profile can be offputting.  Join groups that interest you and explore.  Friendships will come

• Like 6

You'll get some snotty answers but I'll try to be as polite as possible. My advice:

*Join Second Life (Great! You did that already.)
*Explore ten locations from the Destination Guide
*Take a Beginner class.
*When people talk, listen.