Is the kemono body good for beginners?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 862 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've been playing Second Life for about a week. I really like the little feet and body shape of the kemono body and I think I'd like to get one, but I only understand about half of what I read about it because I'm still unfamiliar with a lot of the jargon here. I have some specific ideas about how I want to have my avatar, so I would like to be able to customize without getting in over my head. Would  this be a good starter body, or would it be too complicated for someone who's just starting out?  

For reference, I have some experience with modding for The Sims but I've only retextured things, I never learned about meshes. I needed to have a very, very basic understanding of meshes to be able to paint on them but that's all. Judging by the tutorials I've found so far, the retexturing process seems similar here but it's still all pretty mysterious to me lol. 

Things are changing. Probably this year a feature called Bakes On Mesh (BoM) will go live. This will allow us to hande mesh bodies very much like we handle classic bodies. So, you do not need to feel pressured to learn mesh modeling. What you know from the Sims will probably suffice.

We have jargon... and you are new, so... Classic is the avatar you see when you take off everything that can be taken off. We say a mesh body, etc. when we mean a body like Kemono.

Making skin and mesh clothes is a bit complicated. However, BoM is hoped to simplify that and lets us work with mesh bodies as we do with Classic bodies and clothes. So, learning how to make classic or aka 'system' clothes is a good first step. Basically making textures and adding them to system shirts, pants, whatever. No modeling required.