Posters

SweeneyLovett

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2187 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I am new to Second Life and just got my house. I've been trying to find help with hanging posters. I try to drag it to the wall or just drag it out and I can't do that. I go to a sandbox to try and pull it out and I can't do that. I right click and open and it opens the picture. There's no way that I can find to drag them out. When I try to drag it it gives me a small lock icon when I get to the wall. I've searched tutorials and most other places and I just can't find a solution. I would appreciate the help, thank you. I've included a pic of the wall I'm trying to hang it on.

Screenshot (32).png

2 answers to this question

Because it is a texture.

Rez a box (a prim) make it flat and all but one side invisible and add the texture to the box (as easy as dragging it on the box)

... however be carefull with "no copy" textures... they are "one use"

Welcome to SL btw.

If you didn't understand a word what I said... that's kinda normal at start, the learning curve in SL is steep. In that case go to one of the newbie gateways and ask around if somone can explain to you on how to bring a texture in world.

Edited by Fionalein
  • Like 1

Hi Sweeney!  Fiona is right.

What you need to understand is the difference between "objects" and "textures".  An object is something that can exist in the 3D world...a car, a house, a tree, or a framed painting hanging on the wall.  In your inventory, all objects have the same symbol...a little cube.

A texture is a two-dimensional image, a picture.  For example, if you take a photo in RL and put it on your computer, you can SEE it...but you cannot pick it up off the screen and hand it to someone.