Problems with channels

MannyRD

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2204 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello friends, I'm new to programming scripts. My project is to create a boat. It has been easier to write the script separately for the lights, the horn, the ignition, movement of the helix, in short, several scripts. The problem is that I want to activate them by command but, in all, I used channel 0, using the function llListen, however, by putting all the scripts in their respective prims inside my boat, it seems that the instructions are mixed making several scripts respond simultaneously, how can I make everyone listen on a different channel?

best regards.

Edited by MannyRD

short tip: don't

instead use messages and keywords to communicate, and best let the user reset the cannel to some onther one, ideally your kewords are very specific to your boat like

"MANNYRDBOAT1 RAISE" that way your boat will not listen to other boats =^.^=

Edited by Fionalein

Hello, Manny, and welcome to the Scripting Forum.

The answer to your question is simple.   In each of your scripts, you must already have a line reading something like

llListen(0,"",llGetOwner(),"");  

(it may not be exactly that, but it will start with llListen(0 ).   Simply change the 0 to some other integer value (positive if you want to be able to say them in chat rather than via a HUD), with different values in each script.   Then use that channel to send commands to the particular item.