Can I be banned from my own land?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2170 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi all

I've just bought a parcel of land and rent out for the first time, so a total newbie to being a "landlord" lol.  My question is - could a nasty renter ban me from my own land by putting out a security orb or in some other way?  What can I do to prevent this (eg what should be checked/unchecked in "About Land" when renting out).  I already have a group for the land and the house I'm putting down has its own security system. Any tips generally?  

TIA 

52 minutes ago, Tourmaline Falken said:

Hi all

I've just bought a parcel of land and rent out for the first time, so a total newbie to being a "landlord" lol.  My question is - could a nasty renter ban me from my own land by putting out a security orb or in some other way?  What can I do to prevent this (eg what should be checked/unchecked in "About Land" when renting out).  I already have a group for the land and the house I'm putting down has its own security system. Any tips generally?  

TIA 

On mainland, a nasty tenant can put an orb in or ban lines up if you allow deed. But you can also cam in and return it, then ban them (Use firestorms area search to trivially find it). On private estates ban lines and orbs don't work on estate managers. [[Generally though, so what if they orb you, you ethically shouldn't be visiting the rented land in my opinion. At the end of the lease you can return all their remaining stuff from outside the parcel (carefully) and then undo the ban line and walk in.]]

A word of advice, never give the tenant owner status in the group, make a second level under owner with a lot of the options turned off (like sell land)

A second word of advice, make an alt and give that alt owner level like you. You should always have 2 avatars who own the land in your name.

Edited by Callum Meriman
  • Thanks 1