Walkable object

Raena Parx

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2207 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am a builder, not a scripter, so I'm hoping someone can answer this in a "scripting for dummies" reply lol. 

I'm interested in making an object that can be rezzed, then when sat on it lets you walk and moves with you, while using an animation on your avatar -- one for walking, one for standing.   For example if I had a basket on the ground, I could sit on the basket an it would animate the object as if I'm wearing it in my arms, then let me walk freely with it, or stand.  That's just an example.

I figure I would need to...
1. on sit: make the object move to a specific position in relation to my avatar
2. animate my avatar (depending on walking or standing)
3. make my object free to move with me, even tho I sat on it.....***THIS IS WHERE I have no clue how to do.

Any suggestions?

Thank you in advance.

You were doing fine until you got to sitting on the basket, which doesn't serve any purpose in the scenario you are describing.  What you seem to want to to is:

1. Click on the basket, which makes it

2. attach to your avatar and

3. start an animation.

All of that is quite easy. The only hidden step is that in order to attach, you have to have the basket request permission to attach to you and then prepare to animate you. That means that your touch_start event has to include a llRequestPermissions statement, which in turn triggers the run_time_permissions event where you llAttachToAvatar.  Then, in step 2, the attach event is where you trigger the animation with llStartAnimation