Psychological Services For Pay?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2241 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi all,

Is it permissible, per LL or SL rules, to offer therapy for pay in SL? 

I ask because I came across an ad for a "health clinic" in the in-world employment forum looking for "therapists" who "aid patient therapy services via CBT and talk therapy, and they may specialize."  There is no representation made that applicants must be certified therapists of any sort.

I know SL residents come to experience a variety of things and are willing to pay for a lot, but I'm wondering, are there restrictions on this sort of thing on ethical/legal grounds?

~Lori

I'd hope the ad's placer has an application process that would sort for people who actually have credentials. Speaking as a would-be psychologist myself if nothing else. If they aren't using actual therapists, that's ethically dicey as heck. How they sell the service to clients would determine whether there's false representation involved. Dr. Phil isn't licensed to perform therapy anymore since he was caught banging his secretary, but there's nothing legally wrong with him doing that harmful little show of his since it's not the same thing by a loophole. And there are different standards within the United States and Canada alone for that role; the more global market's rules would really get complicated if they're trying to be legit.