Lets be honest

ortiga Waco

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4725 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Over the past few years as a secondly resident I've seen a lot of changes, some good some bad, in this virtual world many of us have adopted. Whether your a content creator, or just a average citizen, in this virtual world you've probably heard about mesh by now. You've also probably heard about, and personally witnessed, the lag that has plagued secondly. This lag comes from many things. One of these is probably the most well recognized, that being over stressed servers, not to point fingers at any one reason why this lag is occurring.

In the recent months I have watched several video's about the upcoming mesh feature in secondly. Many of these video's, including those from Linden Labs, have educated me on how mesh effect the servers that run secondly, as well as how mesh will effect the individual's computer who is a resident of secondly. According to a video by Linden Labs mesh are less stressful on the individual's computer, and more stressful on Linden Lab's servers.

Putting less stress on the individual's computer in theory sounds like a terrific idea. However when implanted into a virtual world with servers that are already over stressed, this idea seems to crumble. Implanting mesh into secondly would not only add more lag to the virtual world, but it would have many other horrible fallout effects. These effects could include using a single mesh to grief a sim and use up all of the sim's available prims, and content theft from third party sources of a entirely new level which would all but terminate secondlife's building community.