Mesh texturing and designing full perm objects

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2262 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi!  I've been on SL a few years.  I am an artist in RL and want to learn all I can using and developing my skills in SL.  I've been researching, watching youtube vids, reading the forums etc all I can lately.  I tried working with Blender and Avastar.  I am well versed in Photoshop and would like to do some more work there as I continue to learn.

The reason I am posting here today is to gain some insight to point me in the right direction.  I have bought a few full perm mesh items.  I would like to work on designing and texturing these, compiling themed objects and selling them on the marketplace for art/deco, or even designing buildings or skyboxes etc.  It seems like this is something people do?  I'd love to get my creativity going on something accessible to me, as I realize creating mesh myself is quite difficult for where I'm at.

Are there any guides or write ups where I can read some more info on this topic?  Specifically, I want to learn how to really design these pre built mesh items to make them my own, and how to put multiple objects together.  Do I texture the files in photoshop, then apply textures and combine objects in world?  Then how do I save them as I want them to show up on marketplace?

Thank you so much!!!

This page is old but has some good info with photos: http://nakedmesh.blogspot.com/p/mesh-faqs.html

Basically you add textures to EITHER the Ambient Maps or the UV maps (sometimes both are supplied, sometimes not so read the description of what you are buying.