asvard17

Textures how to use them

Question

Adding textures to Objects

I am pretty new at this and I am having some difficulty, hopefully someone reading this can help.  I have a space ship and I found some nose art as well both were purchased in the Market placed.  I want to add one of the artworks to the nose of my ship.  However, I either get a second of ship where I tried to place it disappear or the whole ship is cover.  Anyone have any ideas?

5 answers to this question

Yes, but they probably won't help because I cannot see your ship.  All objects in SL have surfaces on which you can apply textures.  Simple shapes, like a cube that you rez with the tools in your viewer, have surfaces that are easy to figure out.  A cube has six square faces, so you can put a different texture on each face if you want.  It's not as easy to figure out where the distinct faces are on a more complex shape, like a ship.  They may have irregular shapes or may even be split into several disconnected pieces.  If you don't know what you are doing, you can easily texture the wrong thing .... or everything ... as you have found.  Unless you have explicit instructions from whoever made an object, the solution is often to texture something else ( spare prim, for example) and attach it to your object.  That's what people do when they want to add wall coverings in a prefab house -- build a false wall and texture it instead of messing with the real wall.  You might be able to do that with your ship. Otherwise, the only options are either to keep experimenting or ask the creator for guidance.  I would experiment, myself.  Just be sure that you keep a clean backup copy somewhere.  ;)

Rolig's last suggestion is probably the best one for you.  Create a sort of "decal" of your nose art.  For this to work, you must have Modify permissions on the ship.

1. Open your nose art image in Photoshop, GIMP, or another image-editing program