Basic land (sim) rental question

Cerebrogasm

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2291 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hello,

I'm new at real estate purchases, rentals, or leasing of basic undeveloped or themed, homestead or mainland, land in SL. I'm interested in renting/leasing a 256m x 265m full sim with open, vertical area for skyboxes. I need about 4,000 - 5,000 prims (at least) and sailing. However, sailing is not a requirement, but I was given a lot of boats, yachts, etc. by a developer for free.

Some residents recommended I should have access to the "Blake Sea" or rent in a vast private community region with sailing privileges like those in the Fruit Islands, Eden Estates, etc., if possible. 

I also would like to know more about a "themed sim" where I do not have to terraform the land - I have limited time to devote to SL this month.

Can you further advise me where to look - and how much per month in US dollars the rent would be (approximately)?

Thank You!

James (cerebrogasm resident)

• Like 1

7 answers to this question

Start by reading the basics in the Knowledge Base:

That will address many of your questions, plus many that you haven't thought to ask yet.  It's probably a good idea to look at the other side too:

No matter which way you look at it, owning or renting land requires some fundamental understanding of how the SL economy works and, more specifically, how land works.  I truly suggest taking a free class from Lindal Kidd at Caldon Oxbridge University (in world) next Saturday before you make any decisions. Land is an expensive commitment, and there are quite a few ways to be disappointed if you don't go into it with your eyes open, especially if you are thinking of a whole region. (I would actually recommend renting a much smaller parcel at first, so you have some practice before getting into the big time.)

A couple of specific responses: