• 0
otisdemillo

deleted account

Question

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Hello!

You will need to contact support and have $9.95 ready as there is a reactivation fee.

You can find more detailed information at 

The article explains in official words what needs to be done, as well as warnings.

I recommend reactivating your account as soon as possible as the asset server may purge specific items which it sees as unused, including Linden Dollar balance.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Fortunately, your account has not been deleted yet. If it had been, you couldn't log in here to ask.  So, if it is a Basic account, follow Chaser's advice right now. There probably won't be a $9.95 fee, but if there is, it's a small price to pay to keep your account alive.

If you have a Premium account, it's even simpler. Your account is prepaid, so if you told LL that you wished to cancel, the account would still remain active until the end of the period that you have already paid for. In the meantime, your cancellation is "pending". All you need to do is contact Live Chat and tell them that you changed your mind.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
5 hours ago, Chaser Zaks said:

 

I recommend reactivating your account as soon as possible as the asset server may purge specific items which it sees as unused, including Linden Dollar balance.

What do you base this info on?  Is it only for accounts that have actually been flagged as 'deleted'?  I've gone months without ever logging in to some of my accounts and I've never lost any items, best I can tell, nor have I ever lost any L$.

Edited by LittleMe Jewell

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
9 hours ago, LittleMe Jewell said:

What do you base this info on?  Is it only for accounts that have actually been flagged as 'deleted'?  I've gone months without ever logging in to some of my accounts and I've never lost any items, best I can tell, nor have I ever lost any L$.

If you read the KB article, it states

Quote

Warning: Even if your account is restored, the associated inventory, land, and Linden dollar balance may be unrecoverable.

This is because Linden Lab sees no reason to keep unused data, a deleted account is seen as unused data and it's related assets may be purged eventually.

If an account is only inactive(unused, but not deleted/cancelled), it will never be purged, unless there is a database error, in which case they can recover it from historical database backups.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Chaser Zaks said:

If you read the KB article, it states

This is because Linden Lab sees no reason to keep unused data, a deleted account is seen as unused data and it's related assets may be purged eventually.

If an account is only inactive(unused, but not deleted/cancelled), it will never be purged, unless there is a database error, in which case they can recover it from historical database backups.

Ah, yeah, I could totally see that with an account that was requested to be cancelled.   I had never read that article in detail -- never thought to cancel my account -- so I hadn't heard that before.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now