Best hardware to run two viewers simultaneosly

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1656 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello there,

I am still trying to understand what is the  best hardware to run SL at high performance, and I have  a second question too: what about if I would like to run two viewers (Firestorm) simultaneously???

Is that possible?

Thank you in advance.

Best regards.

BB

just buy a cheapo quadcore laptop at walmart with a simple nvida card and yr good  if u wanna use just 1 pc get a newer amd 6core cpu or more expensive  outdated intel quad i5 cpu and gtx 1070 add  32gigs of ram and u can use 2 viewers at the same time

btw im no expert i just like messin around so its best if you wait for somone who knows what they are talking bout to answer your question

Anything with more than 2 cores really, a decent mid tier GPU with enough video memory to share.

Pretty much any decent quadcore from even a few generations back + any mid tier GPU from a few generations back and newer will run multiple instances of SL. Though for firestorm you want a bare minimum of 8gb of ram, since FS can use 2-3gb per instance.

So older stuff, something like an intel i5 2500, GTX 750ti, 8gb of ram.

Or newer stuff, something like a Ryzen 3 1200, 1050ti, 8gb of ram (or more, in 2017 16gb isnt uncommon)

The key point here is CPU cores and single threaded performance. Something like an FX 8350, although its an 8 core processor, has kind of weak single threaded performance so it would be overshadowed by something like an i5 4460, with much better single threaded performance.