Abusive content/group/sims in Second Life

AshaShanti

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2339 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi all, 

I have come across this group and full sim dedicated to : "watch her die as you *****". 

I am totally shocked that there are people out there that would find this fun and entertaining. In RL this would be considered seriously sick and unacceptable. Should this be considered as mere "roleplay" and be accepted. The group already has 500 members - it is saddening to know that someone ( actually at least 500 members ) glorifies suffering this way. People often tend to join groups without thinking at all what it is about - the more members this group has the more "normal" it becomes to consider this entertainment and fun. 

I have been in SL for 10 years running various creative projects and communities, and in RL I have been running a non profit for 10 years as well - I am aware how a project can influence the minds and hearts of people and all those that decide to create a sim, project, group of any sort should be aware of their responsibilities and the influence they have on the minds of their members. 

• Sad 1

14 minutes ago, AshaShanti said:

I have come across this group and full sim dedicated to :

So don't go there.  Better still, go away.

There's only one kind of person I really can't stand, the kind who tell me that I can't do something THEY find obnoxious.  Like kissing another girl in public, or not wearing a veil, or not being allowed to wear a veil if I want to, or not being allowed out without a male relative..... sheesh!

• Like 9
  • Thanks 1

The question is - do we ignore abuse - or just pass by.

This is very different from who is kissing who or who wears a veil or not.