Hello everyone ! 

I am a psychology student and I am conducting a study on violence (and more precisely rape) in Second Life. 

Have you ever been the victim of violence or inappropriate sexual content on this platform ? If so, would you accept to testimony about it anonymously in order to help me collect more data about this issue and raise awareness about the emotional consequences ? Of course, your testimony will only be used for academic purpose and your names (even your avatar names) will never appear somewhere. 

This study does not criticize Second Life, it only suggests that it is a context in which violence may occur, just as "real life". 

Thank you for reading this anyway ! For those who don't feel like talking about it, I just want you to know that it is not your fault and that things will be okay ! :) 

Feel free to message me on this forum !

EDIT : If you decide to give this a shot and have a real clinical conversation with me, you will first have to sign some documents that attest that you agree on the terms and conditions. I repeat it, everything is anonymous. In private messages, you will be given the name of the University, such as my name and contact that are all certified. 

Edited by BatGirlMeow
  • Confused 1

I am not sure exactly what you are asking.  It is not possible to physically rape someone in SL.  There are people who role play it willingly and there are people who consider general griefing like bumping or shooting flames at someone rape, or possibly newbies who are tricked into sitting on poseballs.

Hopefully you will find someone who immerses themselves so fully in their avatar that they might not consider clicking the little red X in the corner to close the viewer or wouldn't think to turn off RLV when logging back in.  Mostly the "violence" and "rape" I see in SL is consensual.

Edited by Cinnamon Mistwood
spelling - ugh!
  • Like 3

1 minute ago, LittleMe Jewell said: