Landmarks in Objects

LoganNJ1013

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2374 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello.  I'm still pretty new to SL and to any type of building or scripting, so I apologize if this is somewhat of an amateur question...or even a scripting question for that matter, but I'm wondering if there is a way essentially insert a landmark in an object.  I know there are numerous methods to TP from point to point within a sim, but is there a way to "script" an object to connect to another sim by touch or by walking into it...or even to offer multiple favorite sims via a menu or the like? 

For example, and this might be TMI, but a little background....I own a land-locked parcel that I wanted to place some vehicles on.  Aesthetically, it looked a little strange for vehicles to have "no where to go", so I added a tunnel to give the appearance of the possibility of travel beyond the ban lines.  But it got me thinking if there was a way to use the tunnel as an actual teleport to another sim or sims.

Anyway, thanks for any advice.

Snapshot_263.png

7 minutes ago, LoganNJ1013 said:

I'm wondering if there is a way essentially insert a landmark in an object.  I know there are numerous methods to TP from point to point within a sim, but is there a way to "script" an object to connect to another sim by touch or by walking into it...or even to offer multiple favorite sims via a menu or the like? 

The quick answer is yes.  There are script functions that will allow you to do this.

http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/LSL_Portal

That is the place to start for anything scripting.  Check out the pages under Teleport to get an idea about what is available.