Transparency and Colour Rotation Help please

Starla Metaller

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2377 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi, I am new to scripting, but there are two elements that I would like to apply to some of the objects on my build:

1) apply some kind of transparency loop - so the object appears to fade in and out by itself (I'm trying to create the effect of a projection)

2) apply a rotation between two colours - again on a loop

Thank you very much!

Check out llSetLinkAlpha to fade an object in/out  - see Wiki, there is even a small sample.

For a little good color change sample, check Wiki on llSetColor - now you write rotation between colors, I assume, you just mean changing between say two colors colors. Else it is normally understood as fading colors into each other based on for example an color wheel using RGB values, which is more complex to do.

If you are very new to scripting in SL, use a little time to study the Tutorial, both things you want to make are excellent beginner training to do in LSL.

Thank you - is there another command I could use instead of Touch_Start to have the fade in/out happen automatically on a loop, or failing that when it detects an avatar?

And yes, I want to change between two colours (sorry for not being clear).  I'm not sure which bits of the colour script I should remove or change to go from say, aqua to fuschia?

Thanks again :-)

Begin by doing the tutorials that Rachel suggested.  Until you do that, all you're doing is blindly stuffing functions into scripts that you don't understand. If something works, you'll have no idea why it does.  More likely, you'll just get frustrated.